In 1902, plans were approved by Bishop John E. Fitzmaurice to establish a second Polish parish in Erie which was realized through the efferots of an energetic lay committee. The first church was purchased from the pastor of Saint John Church who had recently constructed a new church a few blocks away. The early history of the parish was marred by the ragic death of the Reverend Cincent Matysiak, (1903-1904), the first pastor, who died from monoxide poisoning from a recently installed “modern” water heating system in the rectory bathroom. He was succeeded by his classmate the Reverend Severin E. Niedbalski who guided the parish for forty-three years. During his pastorate, the parish was firmly established and prospered. Among his achievements was the construction of a school in 1909 with the Felician Sisters in charge. By 1940, a beautiful new stone church was constructed. It still stands as one of the most beautiful churches in Erie. Monsignor John L. Mieczkowski (1948-1959) built the present social center at Holy Trinity. It was necessary to close the school in 1997. However, the parish still remains a vibrant community to this day.